Final Fantasy XIII First Impressions

So, after two Gamestops and one brain dead sales associate who tried to sell me the 360 version, Final Fantasy XIII is in my hands. To me, it’s one of those games that I can’t believe I’m actually holding in my hands, much less seeing it in action on my tv. After 4 long years of dreaming of what the future of Final Fantasy would be like, I still feel like I‘m dreaming. I’m only an hour into the game, so I still have 99.8% of the adventure to still explore, but I’m happy to say I’m having a blast so far!

The characters are pretty catchy so far. Cloud- I mean Lightning is a headstrong, bad mammajamma, and I like it, so far she isn’t sitting like a bump on a log pondering the meaning of life or anything. Snow is the newest FF jock along the likes of Sabin, Zell and Wakka. Sazh killed me with the Danny Glover line. The jury’s still out on Hope and Vanille and Fang.

The battle system is very bare-bones in the beginning. Despite watching videos, and reading blogs focused solely on it, I still couldn’t envision it. Battle systems are the single most important thing for me when it comes to RPG’s. After watching it with my own eyes, I’m happy to report that there’s a great mix of both eye candy and intriguing mechanics. I can’t wait to get to where I can program a slew of moves and watch my characters decimate their foes. Yes, it looks and feels a lot like what White Knight Chronicles could have been. This may be going a little out of left field, but I would go as far as to say that this is probably what WKC had in mind, but fell short. I won’t go in too much depth with that. This is an impressions piece after all!

The graphics and audio are immaculate. The familiar victory fanfare and prelude have vanished, but the tracks I have heard so far mesh great with the environments. In short, this is best graphics I’ve seen this console generation.

That’s all for now. I’ve got to get far enough in the game to write a competent review on it. Between the strategy guide and anything I uncover on Gamefaqs I can do it. Today, I just became a columnist for my school newspaper! My Final Fantasy XIII Review will be my next project, so here’s to Day 1! Time to get to work. Happy gaming everyone. Final Fantasy XIII is finally here!!!

Leave a Reply

